When the Priorities You Ignored Finally Get Your Attention

A gradual buildup of needs that suddenly become pressing

Deepti Kannapan
2 min readAug 16, 2022
Photo by Elena Mozhvilo on Unsplash

My priority list hadn’t changed in years. What’s always been important to me, in a big picture, life-and-career sense, is still important to me.

But I’ve been noticing though journaling recently that spending all my attention on my priority list, like research quests, science, and art, wasn’t working for me.

I’ve had to change my definition of ‘priorities’ to be more situational. The basic needs stay the same over time, and different people (mostly) want and need the same things. Howevever, that doesn’t mean their priorities are the same.

I need fun, comfort, organization, and amusement as much as anyone, but I rarely thought of them as priorities.

That’s because I had them. Or enough of them.

It’s like biological needs. Food and water. Going to the bathroom: you never think of it, until you need to, and then that’s all you can think of. At that moment, going to the bathroom is your top priority. What a thought! Put that on your vision board.

Being organized in my writing wasn’t a priority until I had too many ideas to keep track of — my creative output was overwhelming my note-taking systems. And…

--

--

Deepti Kannapan

Painter, occasional cartoonist, aerospace engineer. Writes about sustainable technology, creativity, and journaling.